Governance of the ECB

The European System of Central Banks (ESCB) is managed by the decision-making bodies of the European Central Bank (ECB), namely the Governing Council and the Executive Board. The General Council is the third decision-making body of the ECB. The Supervisory Board is an internal body of the ECB tasked with planning and performing the functions conferred upon the ECB relating to the prudential supervision of credit institutions.

The nature and functioning of these ECB bodies are primarily established in the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU), the Statute of the ESCB and the respective internal regulations of the ECB, the Executive Board, the General Council and the Supervisory Board.