Euro coins

There are eight denominations of euro coins: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, and 1 and 2 euros.

All euro coins have a common side and a national side, the latter of which is specific to each member state. Euro coins are legal tender throughout the euro area.

Unlike banknotes, the issuance of euro coins falls within the national competence of each member state and not of the European Central Bank (ECB), although the ECB has the exclusive right to approve the volume of coins issued by each country.

In Spain, euro coins are minted by the Fábrica Nacional de Moneda y Timbre - Real Casa de la Moneda (FNMT-RCM)Opens in new window , and it is the Banco de España which, on behalf of the Spanish state, puts euro coins into circulation and withdraws them