Banknotes and coins

Production and putting into circulation

The Treaty establishing the European Community granted the European Central Bank (ECB) the exclusive right with effect from 1 January 1999 to approve the volume of coins issued by member states.

In Spain, euro coins are produced by the Spanish public printing works, and it is the Banco de España which, on behalf of the Spanish state, puts euro coins into circulation, and withdraws them.

The number of euro coins with the national Spanish face produced for the launch of the euro was 7.085 billion.