Box 1.3

COMPOSITION OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL IN 2020

In 2020, the Governing Council was composed of:

- Governor: Pablo Hernández de Cos.
- Deputy Governor: Margarita Delgado.
- Council Members: Fernando Eguidazu, Soledad Núñez, Carmen Alonso, Núria Mas, Paz Andrés¹ and Carles Manera.²
- General Secretary for Treasury and International Financing: Carlos San Basilio.

- Vice-Chair of the CNMV: Ana Martínez-Pina, until 15
 December 2020 and, subsequently, Montserrat
 Martínez Parera.
- Non-voting participants: i) the General Secretary of the Banco de España, Francisco-Javier Priego; ii) the Directors General of the Bank (in 2020: Juan Ayuso, Concepción Jiménez, Óscar Arce, Jesús Saurina,³ Mercedes Olano, Alejandro Álvarez and Ángel Estrada), and iii) the staff representative, Mariano Serrano.

¹ Paz Andrés stepped down as council member of the Banco de España on 26 November 2020, following her appointment as a permanent member of the Council of State.

² Carles Manera was appointed council member of the Banco de España on 1 July 2020.

³ Jesús Saurina resigned from his post on 1 March 2020 following his appointment to the European Single Resolution Board, at which date he was replaced by Ángel Estrada.